[Translate to English:] Lorenz Baum

Lorenz Baum

M.Sc. Business Information Systems

 

Room: 2.240
baum(at)wiwi.uni-frankfurt.de
Phone +49 (69) 798 34652
Links: LinkedIn | ORCiD | ResearchGate

Biography

Lorenz Baum completed his bachelor’s and master’s degree in Business Information Systems at the Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany. He wrote his theses on the topics “Development of an Alexa Skill in the Context of E-Commerce and Customer Service” and “Proposing a Maturity Model for Assessing Companies’ AI Strategy”. In 2019, he spent a semester abroad at the Department for Industrial Engineering and Management at Aalto University near Helsinki in Finland. He received awards by receiving the Deutschlandstipendium 2018 and 2019 as well as by winning the 1st place at the AiTalents Challenge 2020 of the Frankfurt TechQuartier.

Since October 2021, Lorenz Baum is a doctoral student and research assistant at the Chair of Information Systems and Information Management with Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz. He is part of the interdisciplinary research project PERISCOPE. Additionally, he supports teaching in courses like Digital Business and Business Informatics 2.

His research interests in the field of Information Systems include privacy-friendly business models, human behavior in online communities, and the management of artificial intelligence – with a special focus on human-centric design of AI systems as well as on the potentials of business models that derive value through artificial intelligence.

Core areas
  • Management of Artificial Intelligence
  • Data science and machine learning in a business context
  • Potentials of AI-based business models
  • Privacy-friendly business models
  • Human behavior in online communities
Publications

Hanneke, Björn / Baum, Lorenz / Schlereth, Christian / Hinz, Oliver (2023): "Consumer Preferences for Privacy Management Systems", International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) 2023, Hyderabad, India. aisel.aisnet.org/icis2023/cyber_security/cyber_security/12/ [Download]

Weber, Patrick / Baum, Lorenz / Pinski, Marc (2023): "Messung von AI Literacy – Empirische Evidenz und Implikationen", International Conference on Wirtschaftsinformatik (WI) 2023, Paderborn, Germany. aisel.aisnet.org/wi2023/3/ [Download]

Pfeiffer, Lars / Astfalk, Stefanie / Baum, Lorenz / Hanneke, Björn / Schunck, Christian / Winterstetter, Matthias (2023): "Anforderungen an die automatisierte Protokollierung von Datenverarbeitungstätigkeiten in einem Transaktionsjournal: eine Multi-Stakeholder-Perspektive auf Motivation und Umsetzung", in Friedewald / Roßnagel / Neuburger / Bieker / Hornung (Hrsg.): "Daten-Fairness in einer globalisierten Welt", 117–144, Nomos (Privatheit und Selbstbestimmung in der digitalen Welt, 2), Baden-Baden. doi.org/10.5771/9783748938743-117 [Download]

Baum, Lorenz / Weber, Patrick / Kolb, Laura-Marie (2023): "The Explanation Matters: Enhancing AI Adoption in Human Resource Management", Pacific Asia Conference on Information Systems (PACIS) 2023, Nanchang, China. aisel.aisnet.org/pacis2023/17/ [Download]

Weber, Patrick / Pinski, Marc / Baum, Lorenz (2023): "Toward an Objective Measurement of AI Literacy", Pacific Asia Conference on Information Systems (PACIS) 2023, Nanchang, China. aisel.aisnet.org/pacis2023/60/ [Download]

Hanneke, Björn / Baum, Lorenz / Hinz, Oliver (2023): "GDPR Privacy Type Clustering: Motivational Factors for Consumer Data Sharing", European Conference on Information Systems (ECIS) 2023, Kristiansand, Norway. aisel.aisnet.org/ecis2023_rp/409/ [Download]

Hanneke, Björn / Baum, Lorenz / Schunck, Christian / Hinz, Oliver (2024): "Privatsphärenfreundliche Plattformgeschäftsmodelle: Geschäftsmodell-Navigator", Datenschutz und Datensicherheit (DuD) 48, 89–94. doi.org/10.1007/s11623-023-1887-5 [Download]

Pfeuffer, Nicolas / Baum, Lorenz / Stammer, Wolfgang / Abdel-Karim, Benjamin M. / Schramowski, Patrick / Bucher, Andreas M. / Hügel, Christian / Rohde, Gernot / Kersting, Kristian / Hinz, Oliver (2023): "Explanatory Interactive Machine Learning: Establishing an Action Design Research Process for Machine Learning Projects", Business & Information Systems Engineering 65, 677–701. doi.org/10.1007/s12599-023-00806-x [Download]

Reichel, Markus / Baum, Lorenz / Buxmann, Peter (2019): "Anwendung eines sprachbasierten KI-Dienstes in der Gesundheitsbranche am Beispiel der Entwicklung eines Alexa-Skills", in: Buxmann, Peter / Schmidt, Holger (eds) "Künstliche Intelligenz", Springer Gabler, Berlin, Heidelberg. doi.org/10.1007/978-3-662-57568-0_5 [Download]

Lectures

Winter term 2023/2024: Digital Business - Exercise, Chair of Information Systems and Information Management of Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelor's program, 280 participants, student module evaluation: 4.9 out of 6.

Winter term 2022/2023: Digital Business - Exercise, Chair of Information Systems and Information Management of Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelor's program, 360 participants, student module evaluation: 4.9 out of 6.

Summer term 2022: Business Informatics 2 - Exercise with Python, Chair of Information Systems and Information Management of Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelor's program, 300 participants, student module evaluation: 4.9 out of 6.

Winter term 2021/2022: Digital Business - Exercise, Chair of Information Systems and Information Management of Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelor's program, 280 participants, student module evaluation: 5.2 out of 6.

Winter term 2021/2022: Business Informatics 2 - Organization, Chair of Information Systems and Information Management of Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelor's program, 250 participants, student module evaluation: 4.8 out of 6.

Top

Lorenz Baum

Lorenz Baum

M.Sc. Wirtschaftsinformatik

 

Raum: 2.240
baum(at)wiwi.uni-frankfurt.de
Telefon +49 (69) 798 34652
Links: LinkedIn

Zur Person

Lorenz Baum absolvierte sein Bachelor- und Masterstudium der Wirtschaftsinformatik an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. Seine Abschlussarbeiten schrieb er zu den Themen „Entwicklung eines Alexa Skills im Kontext von E-Commerce und Customer Service“ und „Proposing a Maturity Model for Assessing Companies’ AI Strategy“. Im Jahr 2019 verbrachte er sein Auslandssemester am Department for Industrial Engineering and Management der Aalto Universität bei Helsinki in Finnland. Auszeichnungen erhielt er in Form des Deutschlandstipendiums 2018 und 2019 sowie mit dem Gewinn des 1. Platzes bei der AiTalents Challenge 2020 des Frankfurter TechQuartiers.

Seit Oktober 2021 ist Lorenz Baum Promotionsstudent und Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationsmanagement bei Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz. Er ist Teil des Forschungsprojekts PERISCOPE. Außerdem unterstützt er die Lehre in Veranstaltungen wie Digital Business und Wirtschaftsinformatik 2.

Seine Forschungsinteressen im Bereich der Wirtschaftsinformatik umfassen privatsphärenfreundliche Geschäftsmodelle, menschliches Verhalten in Online-Communities und das Management von Künstlicher Intelligenz – mit besonderem Fokus auf human-centric Design von KI-Systemen sowie auf die Potenziale von Geschäftsmodellen, die mittels KI einen Mehrwert aus Daten ziehen.

Interessen
  • Management von Künstlicher Intelligenz
  • Data Science und Machine Learning im Unternehmenskontext
  • Potenziale KI-basierter Geschäftsmodelle
  • Privatsphärenfreundliche Geschäftsmodelle
  • Menschliches Verhalten in Online-Communities
Publikationen

Reichel, Markus / Baum, Lorenz / Buxmann, Peter (2019): "Anwendung eines sprachbasierten KI-Dienstes in der Gesundheitsbranche am Beispiel der Entwicklung eines Alexa-Skills", in: Buxmann, Peter / Schmidt, Holger (eds) "Künstliche Intelligenz", Springer Gabler, Berlin, Heidelberg. doi.org/10.1007/978-3-662-57568-0_5 [Download]

Lehrveranstaltungen

Aktuelle Beteiligungen an Lehrveranstaltungen:

SoSe 2022: Wirtschaftsinformatik 2 - Übung mit Python, Professur für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationsmanagement von Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelorstudiengang, 300 Teilnehmer, Modulbewertung der Studierenden: 4,9 von 6.

Vergangene Beteiligungen an Lehrveranstaltungen:

WiSe 2021/2022: Digital Business - Übung, Professur für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationsmanagement von Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelorstudiengang, 280 Teilnehmer, Modulbewertung der Studierenden: 5,2 von 6.

WiSe 2021/2022: Wirtschaftsinformatik 2 - Organisation, Professur für Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationsmanagement von Prof. Dr. Oliver Hinz, Bachelorstudiengang, 250 Teilnehmer, Modulbewertung der Studierenden: 4,8 von 6.

Top